[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Wednesday, 8 February 2006, 21:35 GMT
London critics honour Brokeback
Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal in Brokeback Mountain
Brokeback has had a highly successful awards season so far
Brokeback Mountain has won two of the top honours at the 26th London Film Critics' Circle awards.

The gay love story - starring Heath Ledger - won film of the year and director of the year for Ang Lee at the ceremony in London on Wednesday.

Brokeback Mountain has already won four Golden Globes and secured eight Oscar nominations, including best film.

The best British actor and actress awards went to Ralph Fiennes and Rachel Weisz for The Constant Gardener.


In other big awards, Bruno Ganz won actor of the year for his portrayal of Adolf Hitler in Downfall, while Naomi Watts was named actress of the year for her role in King Kong.

Thandie Newton scooped the actress in supporting role for her performance in racial drama Crash.

Film of the Year - Brokeback Mountain
Director - Ang Lee
Actress - Naomi Watts
Actor - Bruno Ganz
Supporting actress - Thandie Newton
Supporting actor - Tom Hollander (Pride and Prejudice)
British actress - Rachel Weisz
British actor - Ralph Fiennes
British newcomer - Kelly Reilly (Mrs Henderson Presents)
British producer - Simon Channing Williams (The Constant Gardener)
British director - Joe Wright (Pride and Prejudice)
Foreign Language Film - Downfall
Screenwriter - Paul Haggis and Bobby Moresco (Crash)
The Attenborough Award - The Constant Gardener
Dilys Powell Award - Bryan Forbes CBE

Awards chairman William Russell said: "Brokeback Mountain has all the ingredients of a classic love story, except that the lovers are two young ranch hands who fall in love one summer while herding sheep, but go on to marry and have children, while continuing to meet over the years.

"Ang Lee has succeeded in presenting this highly controversial situation in an intelligent and sensitive fashion, and secured outstanding performances from the entire cast.

"It is a feat which has been rightly recognised."

The Dilys Powell Award for outstanding contribution to cinema was presented to director Bryan Forbes, whose work includes Whistle down the Wind and the original The Stepford Wives.

The London Film Critics' Circle awards recognise the best in British and international film talent.


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific