[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Friday, 15 April, 2005, 12:16 GMT 13:16 UK
Shameless success at TV ceremony
Paul Abbott's Shameless won three prizes, including best drama series
Channel 4 programmes dominated the 2005 Broadcasting Press Guild awards, with three prizes for Shameless and one for top chef turned TV star Gordon Ramsay.

It also won an award for Omagh, its dramatisation of the 1998 bomb blast.

Terry Wogan was named best radio broadcaster at Friday's ceremony at London's Theatre Royal Drury Lane.

The Guild - an association of more than 100 TV and radio broadcasters and critics - also honoured Bruce Forsyth and The Long Firm star Mark Strong.

Shameless, which won three Royal Television Society Awards last month, won three more prizes: best drama series, best actress for Anne Marie Duff, and a writer's award for its creator Paul Abbott.

Omagh won best single drama, while reality show Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares was named best factual entertainment.

Strictly Come Dancing host Bruce Forsyth was filming in America so could not appear to collect his best performer prize, though Wogan did attend.

So too did Granada chairman Sir Denis Foreman, who received a lifetime achievement award for a distinguished career that includes such TV classics as World in Action, Brideshead Revisited and The Jewel in the Crown.

The winners:

  • Best single drama - Omagh (Channel 4)
  • Best drama series/serial - Shameless (Channel 4)
  • Best documentary series - The Power of Nightmares (BBC Two)
  • Best single documentary - The Boy Whose Skin Fell Off (Channel 4)
  • Best entertainment - Strictly Come Dancing (BBC One)
  • Best factual entertainment - Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares (Channel 4)
  • Best actor - Mark Strong (The Long Firm, BBC One)
  • Best actress - Anne Marie Duff (Shameless, Channel 4)
  • Best performer (non-acting) - Bruce Forsyth (Strictly Come Dancing, BBC One)
  • Writer's award - Paul Abbott (Shameless, Channel 4)
  • Radio programme of the year - From Our Own Correspondent (BBC Radio 4)
  • Radio broadcaster of the year - Terry Wogan (BBC Radio 2)
  • Multichannel award - Hex (Sky One)
  • Harvey Lee Award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting - Sir Denis Foreman

    Crime pays for Bafta nominee Strong
    15 Apr 05 |  Entertainment
    Shameless actress cast as monarch
    12 Apr 05 |  Entertainment
    Shameless triumphs at RTS awards
    16 Mar 05 |  Entertainment


    The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


    News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
    UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
    Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
    Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific