[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Wednesday, 24 August 2005, 17:10 GMT 18:10 UK
'New Peter Kay' on Perrier list
Stand up comic Jason Manford
Perrier nominee Jason Manford appeared in BBC Three's Ideal
A stand-up comic hailed as a successor to Peter Kay is among the nominees for this year's Perrier Comedy Award.

Jason Manford, who has been likened to the Phoenix Nights star, is one of five acts up for the 7,500 Edinburgh Fringe prize, to be announced on Saturday.

Also nominated are 2004 runner-up Chris Addison, spoof children's entertainer Jeremy Lion, Laura Solon and sketch group Dutch Elm Conservatoire.

Previous winners include Steve Coogan, Lee Evans and Frank Skinner.

Relative unknown Will Adamsdale won last year's prize for his self-help satire Jackson's Way.

Manford, who cites Peter Kay as an early influence on his easy-going style, exposes urban myths in his show Urban Legend.

Like Kay and Johnny Vegas, he is a former winner of the North West Comedian of the Year prize.

Surprise winner

Stand-up comic Addison is among the bookmakers' favourites to win the Perrier award for his show, entitled Atomicity, which is based around the periodic table of elements.

William Hill spokesman Rupert Adams said: "Chris Addison was many commentators' favourite to win last year and he has an excellent chance to win this year.

"But one to watch out for is Jason Manford, who has had a very strong late run, gaining similar reviews to last year's successful winner Jackson's Way."

Chris Addison
Chris Addison co-starred in BBC Four political satire The Thick of It

Drunken children's entertainer Jeremy Lion is the creation of Justin Edwards, a 2002 Perrier best newcomer award winner as one third of sketch group The Consultants.

Laura Solon plays a series of bizarre characters in her one woman show.

Dutch Elm Conservatoire base their sketches around the premise of being a conspiracy theory investigation service.

Unsuccessful nominees who have gone on to bigger things include Graham Norton, Johnny Vegas, Peter Kay, Harry Hill and Eddie Izzard.

The shortlist is compiled by 10 judges, including seven comedy professionals and three members of the public.

Meanwhile, the nominees for the Perrier Best Newcomer Award are Charlie Pickering, Mark Watson, Toulson and Harvey, Rhod Gilbert and Tim Minchin.


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific