[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Monday, 20 December, 2004, 16:03 GMT
Readers debate world Booker prize
Alan Hollinghurst
Alan Hollinghurst won this year's Man Booker Prize
Readers across the world have the chance to give their views on who should win the inaugural Man Booker International Prize.

The 60,000 award is open to authors who have published fiction in English or whose work is available in English.

The shortlist will be revealed in early 2005, with the winner announced later in the year.

Organisers say the online People's Choice debate will introduce readers to new names in the literary world.

Online visitors will also be able to track the judging process of the official panel, chaired by Professor John Carey and consisting of writer and academic, Azar Nafisi and writer, novelist and editor, Alberto Manguel.

The introduction of the Man Booker International Prize was announced in June 2004 and will be awarded once every two years to a living author.

The first winner of The Man Booker International Prize will be announced in mid 2005. The prize will be presented at an awards ceremony two months later.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific