[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Thursday, 27 May, 2004, 17:02 GMT 18:02 UK
Darkness get songwriters' honour
The Darkness
The Darkness dedicated the award to "songwriters everywhere"
UK rock band The Darkness have been named songwriters of the year at the Ivor Novello songwriting awards.

The band's members - Justin Hawkins, Dan Hawkins, Frankie Poullain and Ed Graham - were jointly named winners at the ceremony in London on Thursday.

Will Young's Leave Right Now was named best song musically and lyrically, while Amy Winehouse's Stronger Than Me was judged best contemporary song.

The awards honour British songwriters, composers and music publishers.

Amy Winehouse
R&B singer Amy Winehouse was honoured
Young's victorious song was written by Francis Eg White, while the Winehouse winner was co-written by Salaam Remi.

The latest major prize for The Darkness comes three months after they swept the board at the Brits, winning best British album, best British group and best British rock act.

They were one of the success stories of 2003 after selling 1.2 million albums in the UK.

Justin Hawkins dedicated the award to "songwriters everywhere" and joked: "It's a great award, it's the heaviest.

"This is the biggest award you can get if you write your own songs.

"We have always wanted something like this but didn't expect to be in this position now. Now we've got here we're not going to let it go."

Fellow rock band Radiohead were awarded a Novello for international achievement.

Best selling UK single went to Mad World, the Tears For Fears song written by Roland Orzabal which was a recent hit for Michael Andrews featuring Gary Jules.

Shaznay Lewis
Former All Saints member Shaznay Lewis was among guests at the ceremony
Dido's White Flag, co-written with Rollo Armstrong and Rick Nowels, was international hit of the year, while the most performed work was won by Jamelia's Superstar, written by Mich Hansen, Joseph Belmaati and Remee.

The dance award went to Goldfrapp's Strict Machine, written by Alison Goldfrapp, William Gregory and Nick Batt.

A special international award went to legendary Motown songwriting team Holland Dozier Holland (Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier and Eddie Holland).

The original line-up of 1970s art-pop band 10CC - Eric Stewart, Kevin Godley, Lol Creme and Graham Gouldman - were honoured for their outstanding song collection.

Fellow 1970s chart star Errol Brown, who sang Hot Chocolate hits such as You Sexy Thing and It Started With A Kiss, won the Performing Right Society award for outstanding contribution to British music.

Classical and film composer Sir Richard Rodney Bennett won The Ivors Classical Music Award, while Nicholas Hooper won for the best original music for TV for The Young Visiters. Best original film score went to Max by Dan Jones.

Ivor Novellos 2004: The winners
27 May 04  |  Entertainment
The Darkness convince the sceptics
12 Jan 04  |  Entertainment
Row over Darkness festival 'snub'
31 Mar 04  |  Entertainment
Darkness album strikes gold in US
26 Feb 04  |  Entertainment
Young and Dido lead Novello list
27 Apr 04  |  Entertainment


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific