[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Friday, 30 April, 2004, 10:17 GMT 11:17 UK
Haddon up for Carnegie medal
Mark Haddon
Haddon's book has two imprints - one for teenagers and one for adults
Whitbread Prize winner Mark Haddon is leading the race for the UK's most prestigious children's book award.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time has been nominated for the Carnegie Medal, which is awarded by children's librarians.

Haddon is up against five other writers including Whitbread Children's Book winner David Almond and Children's Laureate Michael Morpurgo.

The winner will be announced at the British Library in London on 9 July.

First time novelist Jennifer Donnelly was also shortlisted for her murder mystery novel A Gathering Light.

The Fire Eaters by David Almond
A Gathering Light by Jennifer Donnelly
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
The Garbage King by Elizabeth Laird
Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo
Sisterland by Linda Newbury

Elizabeth Laird's tale, The Garbage King, about two homeless boys in Ethiopia was also nominated, alongside Linda Newbury's Sisterland, set in England and Germany just before the start of World War Two.

"This year's shortlist showcases writing that is as enjoyable for adults as it is for children and young people," said chair of the judges, Colin Brabazon.

"All six books dig deep into human relationships, particularly those within families, exploring how children relate both to adults and to their peers. They are as intense and illuminating as the best adult fiction can be," he said.


The Carnegie Medal was established by The Library Association in 1936, in memory of the Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie.

Carnegie was a self-made industrialist who made his fortune in steel in the USA. His experience of using a library as a child led him to resolve that "if ever wealth came to me that it should be used to establish free libraries".

He set up more than 2800 libraries across the English speaking world and by the time of his death in 1919 over half the library authorities in the UK had Carnegie libraries.

The winner receives a golden medal and 500 worth of books to donate to a library of their choice.

Author Haddon wins teenage prize
04 Nov 03  |  Entertainment
Haddon wins South Bank Show prize
23 Jan 04  |  Entertainment
Teen's tale wins children's prize
06 Oct 03  |  Entertainment
Children's laureate named
14 May 03  |  Entertainment


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific