[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Wednesday, 14 January, 2004, 10:59 GMT
Rowling up for adult book prize
JK Rowling
JK Rowling is nominated for the fifth book in her Harry Potter series
JK Rowling's latest Harry Potter book is up against some of the year's most acclaimed adult novels in a vote to find the best work of fiction of 2003.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is up for the best fiction prize at the WH Smith Book Awards.

Also nominated are Whitbread winner Mark Haddon, crime writer Ian Rankin, Irish-born novelist Colum McCann and horror author James Herbert.

The winners of the WH Smith Book Awards will be chosen by a public vote.

Mark Haddon - The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time
James Herbert - Nobody True
Colum McCann - Dancer
Ian Rankin - A Question of Blood
JK Rowling - Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire won the WH Smith children's award in 2001, and Rowling has won a long list of children's honours for her boy wizard creation.

But recognition as an author whose work is also enjoyed by adults has been less forthcoming.

This year, the WH Smith judges said her latest book had "wonderful storytelling" and was "genuinely scary with some great characters".

Haddon is shortlisted for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time, with Rankin nominated for A Question of Blood.

McCann's Dancer - centred around ballet legend Rudolph Nureyev - is also on the list, as is Herbert's Nobody True.

Royal butler

In other categories, Booker Prize nominee Monica Ali will go up against TV presenter Lowri Turner for the award for best debut novel.

Paul Burrell's A Royal Duty - in which the former butler disclosed details of Princess Diana's letters and private life - is shortlisted for best biography or autobiography.

And Kate Adie, Michael Moore and Bill Bryson are among those battling in the best factual category.

The results of the internet and text vote will be revealed at an awards ceremony in London on 16 March.


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific