[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 6 January, 2004, 19:45 GMT
Whitbread win for Booker victor
DBC Pierre
DBC Pierre's initials stand for "Dirty But Clean"
Booker Prize winner DBC Pierre has won the Whitbread prize for best first novel and will now compete for the overall prize of book of the year.

His book, Vernon God Little, will compete for the 25,000 overall prize with other Whitbread category winners.

Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time won in the best novel category.

Poetry, biography and children's writers will also compete for the overall prize, revealed on 27 January.

The 2003 prize attracted 468 entries, a record number, including 111 children's books, with a shortlist drawn up in each category.

Much surprise

Haddon's critically-acclaimed novel The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time made the longlist for the Booker Prize but there was much surprise when it failed to make the shortlist.

The book is about a teenager with a form of autism and straddles both children's and adult fiction.

It was one of the top-selling hardbacks books over the Christmas period. It has already won two children's fiction prizes.

Mark Haddon
Mark Haddon

The Whitbread judges wrote "we can think of few readers who could no take no pleasure from this wonderful novel".

To win the category it beat Rachel Cusk's The Lucky Ones, Sheena Mackay's Heligoland and Barbara Trapido's Frankie & Stankie.

The biography category winner, Orwell: The Life by DJ Taylor, was called "masterly" by the judges as it covered the career and private life of George Orwell.

Last year, Claire Tomalin's biography Samuel Pepys: The Unequalled Self won the overall Whitbread Prize.

The children's book award this year has been won by David Almond for The Fire-Eaters, a tale set in Newcastle at the time of the Cuban Missile Crisis.

Almond's first children's novel, Skellig, previously won the Whitbread Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Medal in

The poetry prize has gone to Dundee-born Don Paterson for Landing Light, an emotional collection with "exceptional range of subjects and forms".

Each category's shortlist was selected by a panel of judges, including poet laureate Andrew Motion, actress Jenny Agutter and broadcasters James Naughtie and Mark Lawson.

Writer Mark Haddon
"I feel very grateful and amazed"

Booker winner joins 'roguish writers'
15 Oct 03  |  Entertainment
Tomalin wins Whitbread prize
29 Jan 03  |  Entertainment
Author Haddon wins teenage prize
04 Nov 03  |  Entertainment
'Dirty but clean' Pierre beats his past
15 Oct 03  |  Entertainment


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific