[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Monday, 20 October, 2003, 16:05 GMT 17:05 UK
US poet heads prize shortlist
Billy Collins
Billy Collins is the American Poet Laureate
American Poet Laureate Billy Collins is among those shortlisted for the TS Eliot Poetry Prize 2003.

The award, given by the Poetry Book Society (PBS) which was founded by Eliot in 1953, is regarded as one of the most prestigious in poetry.

Collins has been nominated for his anthology Nine Horses.

Others on the list include Don Paterson, who previously won the prize in 1997, and two women, Jean Sprackland and Lavinia Greenlaw.

TS Eliot Prize 2003 Shortlist
Billy Collins Nine Horses
John F Deane Manhandling The Deity
Ian Duhig The Lammas Hireling
Lavinia Greenlaw Minsk
Jamie McKendrick Ink Stone
Bernard O'Donoghue Outliving
Don Paterson Landing Light
Jacob Polley The Brink
Christopher Reid For and After
Jean Sprackland Hard Water

The prize was inaugurated in 1993 to mark the 40th anniversary of the society and honour its founding poet.

It has been described by UK Poet Laureate Andrew Motion as "the prize most poets want to win".

Previous recipients have included Ted Hughes, Hugo Williams and Anne Carson.

The winner will receive 10,000, in a ceremony to take place in central London on 19 January.

Canadian Carson wins Eliot prize
21 Jan 02  |  Entertainment
Japan poems scoop prize
22 Jan 01  |  Entertainment
Hughes wins TS Eliot poetry prize
11 Jan 99  |  Entertainment

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific