[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Thursday, 2 October, 2003, 11:31 GMT 12:31 UK
Real time challenge for Matrix
The Matrix Reloaded
The Matrix Reloaded opened at Cannes in May
The Matrix Revolutions is to be released at exactly the same time in cities across the world next month, according to reports.

Industry newspaper Variety says this will mean a 6am start for fans in Los Angeles, 9am in New York, 2pm in London, 5pm in Moscow and 11pm in Tokyo on November 5.

It is the first time a film has been released in this way.

Distributors Warner Brothers say it is to capitalise on the final part of the trilogy's popularity and to ward off piracy.

"The zero hour simultananeous opening of Revolutions once again positions the Matrix films as the cutting edge experience in motion pictures," said Warner Brothers spokesman Dan Fellman.

The Matrix Revolutions is the final instalment of the successful sci-fi trilogy starring Keanu Reeves and Hugo Weaving.

Large screen

The second film, The Matrix Reloaded, was a box office hit around the world despite some poor reviews and disappointment among some fans.

The Matrix Revolutions will open in 65 countries and will debut in Imax cinemas in the US on the same day as standard cinemas.

Imax Corporation, which owns the technology behind the format, struck a deal with Warner Bros to simultaneously show the film on 5 November.

It will be the first time a Hollywood blockbuster has been released in two formats at the same time for the different-sized screens.

Imax offers both 2D and Imax 3D images on curved screens up to 10 storeys high, using the latest film technology.

The Matrix Reloaded opened in Imax cinemas three weeks after its general release earlier this year.




SEE ALSO:
Matrix sequel marks Imax first
24 Apr 03  |  Entertainment
Oscars force Matrix sequels choice
18 Aug 03  |  Entertainment
Matrix still UK's top film
17 Jun 03  |  Entertainment
Enter the Matrix disappoints
30 May 03  |  Entertainment
Under the Matrix influence
21 May 03  |  Entertainment


RELATED INTERNET LINKS:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific