[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Wednesday, 17 September, 2003, 10:32 GMT 11:32 UK
Lavigne and Dion up for US awards
Avril Lavigne
Avril Lavigne, 18, is one of the youngest nominees
Avril Lavigne, Celine Dion and Eminem are among a diverse list of nominees for the 31st American Music Awards.

Dion has been shortlisted in two categories, including female pop-rock artist, where she faces competition from Cher and Lavigne.

A number of other artists, including Beyonce Knowles, Shania Twain and Eminem, also received two nominations.

The awards, which are based on sales figures and radio airplay, will take place in Los Angeles on 16 November.

Veteran British performers Fleetwood Mac have been nominated in the best pop-rock category, alongside Matchbox 20 and 3 Doors Down.

Jimmy Kimmel, Dick Clark and Macy Gray
Awards host Jimmy Kimmel, organiser Dick Clark and Macy Gray announced the nominations
The late singer Aaliyah, who died in a plane crash in 2001, is nominated in the R&B female artist section, with Knowles and Ashanti.

And in the male pop-rock category American Idol runner-up Clay Aiken finds himself nominated alongside Kid Rock, John Mayer and Justin Timberlake.

But there is no room for American Idol winner Ruben Studdard.

Unlike in previous years there is no clear favourite, as no artist is nominated in more than two categories.

R Kelly, Luther Vandross, Ashanti and Shania Twain, Sean Paul and Missy Elliot all picked up a pair of nominations each.

Songwriters honoured

Eminem, who won four trophies at last year's AMAs, sees himself competing for favourite rapper and soundtrack for the 8 Mile album, which spawned the star's Oscar-winning hit Lose Yourself.

Aaliyah died in a plane crash
The winners will be selected by a survey of 20,000 music fans.

Meanwhile, the US performing rights organisation, the BMI, has honoured a host of European songwriters at a ceremony in London.

Former Eurythmics guitarist Dave Stewart was awarded song of the year for Underneath it All, performed by No Doubt.

The college song of the year went to Blur frontman Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett for 19-2000, recorded by their cartoon band Gorillaz.

Sting was given a special award for the track Every Breath You Take to mark its seven millionth performance.

And ex-Boyzone singer Ronan Keating was given a country songwriting award for writing the lyrics to The Long Goodbye, which was a hit for Brooks & Dunn in the US.

The dance songwriting award went to Dirty Vegas for Days Go By.

In pictures: American Music Awards
14 Jan 03  |  Entertainment
Eminem sweeps US music prizes
14 Jan 03  |  Entertainment
Lavigne sweeps Canadian awards
07 Apr 03  |  Entertainment

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific