BBC Homepage World Service Education
BBC Homepagelow graphics version | feedback | help
BBC News Online
 You are in: Entertainment: Film
Front Page 
UK Politics 
TV and Radio 
New Media 
Talking Point 
In Depth 

Wednesday, 6 June, 2001, 13:18 GMT 14:18 UK
Lucas set for British film accolade
George Lucas
Lucas already has 17 Oscars and six Bafta awards
Director George Lucas is to be presented with one of the British film industry's top honours later this year.

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (Bafta) is to present the Star Wars director with the Stanley Kubrick Britannia Award for Excellence in Film.

The award is being dedicated to Lucas for his "support and sponsorship" of the British film industry.

The Los Angeles branch of Bafta will dedicate the award to the 57-year-old at a ceremony on 10 November, according to The Hollywood Reporter.

The award, now in its 11th year, was renamed last year following the death of Kubrick, who himself won the award in 1999.

George Lucas and Jake Lloyd
Lucas says Star Wars III will be the final one
Other notable winners include Sir Michael Caine, Sir Peter Ustinov and James Bond producer Albert 'Cubby' Broccoli.

Steven Spielberg is the current holder of the award.

Lucas is best known for the Star Wars series, the last of which, The Phantom Menace, netted him a $400m (253.4m) fortune.

The sequel to this is currently in production and scenes were filmed at a London studio.

Prestigious film school

Lucas' movie career began at the prestigious University of Southern California film school.

A scholarship from Warner Brothers placed him on the set of Francis Ford Coppola's Finian's Rainbow.

The pair became friends and formed a company, American Zoetrope, before Lucas set up on his own with LucasFilm.

In 1973 he wrote and directed American Graffiti which won a Golden Globe and five Academy Award nominations.

His next project was Star Wars which he wrote and directed in 1977.

After several studios turned it down, Fox Twentieth Century picked it up and Lucas took the option to forgo his director's fee in exchange for 40% of the profits.

It went on to become the biggest grossing films of its time, winning seven Oscars.

In total Lucas has picked up 17 Academy Awards and 66 nominations and six Bafta awards.

In 1992 he was honoured with the Irving G Thalberg Award by the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for his lifetime achievement.

Search BBC News Online

Advanced search options
Launch console
See also:

19 Nov 99 | Entertainment
Boost for British film industry
03 Mar 00 | Entertainment
Lucas tops star earners
15 Jul 99 | Entertainment
Star Wars: Lucas strikes back
21 May 99 | Entertainment
Star Wars breaks box office record
15 Feb 00 | Entertainment
Razzies finger film flops
07 Jan 99 | Entertainment
No Star Wars sequels, says Lucas
Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to more Film stories are at the foot of the page.

E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Film stories