[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Wednesday, 19 September 2007, 16:45 GMT 17:45 UK
Rate cut sends oil to fresh highs
Oil plant in Bahrain
Oil prices have risen by more than one third this year
Oil prices reached fresh highs above $82 a barrel after the US Federal Reserve cut interest rates and inventories fell more than expected.

The cut helped allay fears about a slowdown ahead of peak winter demand.

US light crude for October delivery set a new record high at $82.51 a barrel. It has since fallen back and at midday EDT (1700 BST) it was at $81.56.

US crude stocks fell by 3.8 million barrels last week, according to the Energy Information Administration.

The figure was almost double the expected fall.

London Brent Crude peaked at $78.65 a barrel, five cents below its record.

Oil prices have been rising gradually as a result of worries about supplies.

Some investors have also used commodities as an alternative option to volatile share markets.




RELATED INTERNET LINKS
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites



FEATURES, VIEWS, ANALYSIS
Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit

PRODUCTS & SERVICES

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific