BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 10 July 2007, 12:22 GMT 13:22 UK
Cyprus and Malta to adopt euros
What a Cyprus euro will look like
The new Cyprus euro coin will show a 3,000 BC cruciform idol
Cyprus and Malta will adopt the euro on 1 January 2008 after EU finance ministers gave them the final go-ahead.

The 27 ministers decided that one euro would replace 0.585274 Cyprus pounds and 0.4293 Maltese lira.

They will be the second and third of the countries that joined the EU in 2004 to enter the eurozone. Slovenia started using euros on 1 January 2007.

New members have to meet strict criteria on inflation, interest rates, debt, deficits and currency stability.

Lithuania, which had also wanted to adopt the euro in 2008, failed because of its high inflation rate.

Slovakia is next in line, hoping to switch to the single currency in 2009.

Cyprus and Malta get euro boost
16 May 07 |  Business
Cyprus applies to join the euro
13 Feb 07 |  Business
Country profile: Cyprus
14 Mar 07 |  Country profiles
Country profile: Malta
14 Mar 07 |  Country profiles

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific