[an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC News
watch One-Minute World News
Last Updated: Tuesday, 10 August, 2004, 15:54 GMT 16:54 UK
Google sets IPO bidder deadline
Google's headquarters
Google plans to sell 25.7 million shares
Google has said it plans to close bidder registration for its much-anticipated initial public offering (IPO) by 12 August.

The world's most used internet search engine said bidders would have until 1700 EDT (2100 GMT) to register interest in its auction-style IPO.

US-based Google said the auction of 25.7 million shares of Class A common stock would begin shortly afterwards.

However, the company has yet to set a date for its stock market debut.

More shares

Google expects the shares to price between $108 and $135 each.

The company announced on Monday that it had boosted the number of shares it plans to sell to 25.7 million.

It added it would issue 2.7 million shares to rival internet giant Yahoo to settle a patent lawsuit.

The online registration process gives potential investors a bidder identification number, making them eligible to place bids at one of 28 investment firms taking part in the $3 billion (1.6bn) auction.

The share auction will be led by Morgan Stanley and Credit Suisse Group's Credit Suisse First Boston.


RELATED INTERNET LINKS:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

News Front Page | Africa | Americas | Asia-Pacific | Europe | Middle East | South Asia
UK | Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health
Have Your Say | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific