Page last updated at 09:01 GMT, Saturday, 15 May 2010 10:01 UK

Egypt rejects Nile water agreement


Egypt has rejected a new agreement on how the waters of the river Nile should be shared.

The agreement was signed by four upstream countries - Uganda, Rwanda, Ethiopia and Tanzania.

The Nile passes through nine countries, but a colonial-era treaty gives Egypt and Sudan the right to 90 percent of its flow.

Russell Trott reports.


Story Tools


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific