Quick Guide: Cannes Film Festival
Printable version
History and structure

In Competition

Out of Competition

Festival side events

Critics and Directors

Marche Du Film

History and structure
Cannes is the world's most prestigious film festival

The inaugural Cannes Film Festival was held in September 1939, but it was not held again until after World War II.

The event moved to April during the 1950s and the Palme d'Or prize was introduced in 1955.

The festival established itself during the 1960s, and has since secured its status as the world's most prestigious.

It is made up of seven major sections - In Competition; Out of Competition; Un Certain Regard; Cinefondation; Critics' Week; Directors' Fortnight and Marche du Film.