Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming BBC NEWS | In Depth | Vote USA 2006 | Texas
BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Friday, 22 December, 2006, 13:12 GMT
US mid-term elections: Texas
us map

For information on each state make a selection from the dropdown menu:

Republican incumbent Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison and Governor Rick Perry have won re-election.

In the House elections, the Democrats won a key race in the 22nd district, where the Republicans were denied the option to replace disgraced former incumbent Tom DeLay on the ballot when he dropped out of the race late and had to field a write-in candidate.

In the 23rd district, where a last-minute re-drawing of the boundaries had increased the number of Hispanic voters, Democrat Ciro Rodriguez emerged as winner over Republican incumbent Henry Bonilla on 12 December, following a run-off vote.

Incumbent Republican Kay Bailey Hutchison beat Democrat Barbara Ann Radnofsky. Texas's other Senate seat is held by Republican John Cornyn.

  PARTY 2000 2002 2004 2006  
  Republican 2 2 2 2  
  Democratic 0 0 0 0  
  Independent 0 0 0 0  

Texas has 32 congressional districts.

  PARTY 2000 2002 2004 2006  
  Republican 13 15 21 20  
  Democratic 17 17 11 12  
  Independent 0 0 0 0  

Incumbent Republican Rick Perry beat Democrat Chris Bell and independents Carole Keeton Strayhorn and Kinky Friedman.


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific