Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming BBC NEWS | In Depth | Vote USA 2006 | Arizona
BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Wednesday, 8 November, 2006, 05:03 GMT
US mid-term elections: Arizona
us map

For information on each state make a selection from the dropdown menu:

Republican incumbent Senator Jon Kyl has held on to his seat which was initially considered a possible target for the Democrats.

In the governor's race, popular incumbent Democrat Janet Napolitano has also won.

After a number of highly competitive House races, the Democrats made two gains - in the 5th and 8th districts.

Republican incumbent Jon Kyl has beaten Democrat Jim Pederson. Republican John McCain holds the other seat.

  PARTY 2000 2002 2004 2006  
  Republican 2 2 2 2  
  Democratic 0 0 0 0  
  Independent 0 0 0 0  

Arizona has eight congressional districts.

  PARTY 2000 2002 2004 2006  
  Democratic 1 2 2 4  
  Republican 5 6 6 4  
  Independent 0 0 0 0  

Democratic incumbent Janet Napolitano has won against Republican Len Munsil.


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific