BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Tuesday, 4 May, 2004, 12:32 GMT 13:32 UK
Department ministers are elected
The Ministers of Guernsey's 10 new States departments have now been elected to the Policy Council in the new-look House.

At the start of Tuesday's sitting, Deputy Lyndon Trott won the post of Minister of the Treasury and Resources Department.

Martin Ozanne is the new education minister and Stuart Falla heads commerce and employment.

All three were proposed by the Chief Minister Laurie Morgan.

Deputy Falla was elected unopposed, as were Deputy Dave Jones as Minister of Housing, Deputy Bernard Flouquet to head the Environment Department, and Deputy Peter Roffey as Minister of Health and Social Services.

Deputy Mike Torode becomes the new Minister of the Home Department.

He polled 26 votes, although the Chief Minister's choice was Deputy Hunter Adam, and Deputy Jonathan Le Tocq was also nominated.

Deputy Torode told the House his experience made him the "right man for the job".

Morgan named new Chief Minister
01 May 04  |  Guernsey
Three-way battle to lead island
30 Apr 04  |  Guernsey
Recount fails to change results
23 Apr 04  |  Guernsey
Deputies are to form new States
22 Apr 04  |  Guernsey
States date for new top minister
17 Apr 04  |  Guernsey


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | World | UK | England | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales | Politics
Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health | Education
Have Your Say | Magazine | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific