BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Thursday, 14 December 2006, 12:02 GMT
Serbia and Bosnia sign for Nato
Chairman of the Tripresidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina Nebojsa Radmanovic (left) shakes hands with Nato Secretary General Jaap de Hoop Scheffer
Bosnia signed on 11 years after the end of its war
Nato is welcoming three Balkan nations into the fold, as part of an effort to consign the region's recent wars and troubles to history.

Serbia, Bosnia-Hercegovina and Montenegro are entering the alliance's Partnership for Peace programme, putting them on the path to membership.

Ceremonies were held on the 11th anniversary of the Dayton Agreement, which ended the war in Bosnia.

Other Balkan nations will become full members of Nato in coming years.

Slovenia became the first of the former Yugoslav nations to achieve full membership two years ago.

Croatia and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia are expected to join in 2008.

At a ceremony to induct Bosnia, Nato Secretary-General Jaap de Hoop Scheffer said: "Bosnia-Hercegovina has finally moved from the Dayton era to the Brussels era."

Bosnian Serb leader Nebojsa Radmanovic said more than a decade after the war, "the dream of Bosnia-Hercegovina has come true".

Nato looks for global role
27 Nov 06 |  Europe
Balkan EU candidates face pause
08 Nov 06 |  Europe
Profile: Nato
28 Sep 06 |  Country profiles
Timeline: Bosnia-Hercegovina
12 Dec 06 |  Country profiles
Timeline: Serbia
30 Nov 06 |  Country profiles

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific