BBC News: Election 2010 BBC News

Page last updated at 16:15 GMT, Friday, 7 May 2010 17:15 UK

Devon Tories take a seat each from Labour and Lib Dems


Devon candidates celebrate wins

The Conservatives have gained two Devon seats following the declaration of all results in the county, one from Labour and one from the Liberal Democrats.

Oliver Colville took the Plymouth Sutton and Devonport seat, with a majority of 1,149, from Labour's Linda Gilroy who had held it since 1997.

Tory Anne-Marie Morris gained Newton Abbot which had been held by Liberal Democrat Richard Younger-Ross.

In Exeter, Culture Secretary Ben Bradshaw held on to his seat.

Mrs Gilroy said after the Plymouth Sutton and Devonport defeat: "It was a very narrow majority.

"I greatly fear for my constituents. I am disappointed but also very proud of what I and the Labour team have done for the city."

Mr Younger-Ross was elected in 2001 as MP for Teignbridge but ended up contesting the Newton Abbot seat following a boundary review change.

'Staff redundant'

Speaking after the declaration at Newton Abbot leisure centre, Mr Younger-Ross said that losing his seat would result in four people being made redundant.

"There's casework to wrap up, an office to be closed down and four staff will have to be made redundant," he said.

In Devon's final count of the election, Conservative Geoffrey Cox won a second term in the Devon West and Torridge seat with a majority of 2,957.

Tory MPs Gary Streeter in Devon South West and Hugo Swire in Devon East , Labour's Alison Seabeck in Plymouth Moor View and the Liberal Democrats' Nick Harvey in Devon North and Adrian Sanders in Torbay have all retained their seats. The new Devon Central seat was won by the Tories' Mel Stride.

Dr Sarah Wollaston held Totnes for the Conservatives with a majority of 4,927.

The seat was previously held by Anthony Steen who stood down after the expenses scandal.

Tiverton and Honiton was also retained for the Conservatives, but with a new face, Neil Parish.

Mr Parish, who had a majority of 9,320, stood for the Tories after Angela Browning decided not to seek re-election.

Ben Bradshaw held on to his Exeter seat, one of the Conservatives' main targets, with a decreased majority.

Print Sponsor

Devon's most unusual voting venues
05 May 10 |  People & Places

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

But now comes the difficult part - making it work
Why has Eton College produced 18 British PMs?
Frantic talks on who will form the next government


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific