Page last updated at 11:16 GMT, Wednesday, 21 October 2009 12:16 UK

MEPs denied Parliamentary passes

Nick Griffin
BNP leader Nick Griffin will not be given a UK Parliamentary pass

Euro MPs will no longer be entitled to Westminster Parliamentary passes after a vote in the House of Commons.

The decision means BNP MEPs Nick Griffin and Andrew Brons will not get access to Commons facilities.

Commons leader Harriet Harman said the decision was made after a review of the rules relating to passes, and concern about pressure facilities.

Ms Harman says it applies to all parties. Thirty MPs signed a motion signed a motion backing the move.

Labour backbencher John Mann, who tabled the Early Day Motion, said he was "delighted" by the result of the vote: "This stops the BNP parading round here as if they're legitimate politicians."

British MEPs have had automatic access to the Westminster Parliament since 1989. This has now been taken away and they will in future have to apply for permission or be escorted by an MP.

The motion making this change has been on the Commons order paper since October 12 - but has been repeatedly opposed but on Tuesday evening it was resolved without opposition.

The BNP have yet to respond.

Print Sponsor

BNP hits back at generals' attack
20 Oct 09 |  Politics
Hain BNP warning rejected by BBC
19 Oct 09 |  Politics
BNP to consider non-white members
15 Oct 09 |  Politics
Who's afraid of the BNP?
28 Sep 09 |  Magazine
Straw joins debate alongside BNP
27 Sep 09 |  Politics
Musicians' call over BNP CD sales
28 May 09 |  Entertainment

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific