BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Thursday, 10 November 2005, 16:05 GMT
Top politician award for Cameron
David Cameron
The judges praise Mr Cameron's rise from being a little-known figure
David Cameron has been named politician of the year at The Spectator magazine's annual awards ceremony.

The Tory leadership contender, battling against David Davis to win the support of party members, had made a "powerful impact" in the last year, said judges.

Parliamentary correspondents and sketch writers from national newspapers made up the judging panel. The magazine is edited by Tory MP Boris Johnson.

Shadow Attorney General Dominic Grieve was named parliamentarian of the year.

Politician of the Year - David Cameron MP
Parliamentarian of the Year Dominic Grieve MP
Newcomer of the Year - Sadiq Khan MP
Inquisitor of the Year - John Denham MP
Peer of the Year - Baroness Scotland of Asthal
Speech of the Year - Barbara Follett MP
Minister to Watch - John Reid MP

Mr Grieve has been leading the Tory party criticism of the government's proposed 90 day detention proposals for terror suspects - voted down by MPs on Wednesday in favour of a 28-day compromise plan.

The Threadneedle/Spectator Parliamentarian of the Year for 2005 awards were held at Claridges hotel on Thursday and presented by Liberal Democrat leader Charles Kennedy, last year's winner of the politician of the year award.

The awards are designed to acknowledge the contribution made to political life in both Houses of Parliament by individual members "regardless of party".

Sponsors Threadneedle Investment Services Limited said of Mr Cameron: "The judges felt that the powerful impact he has made in the last year from being a relatively little known figure outside Westminster to becoming one of the two main contenders to become Leader of the Conservative Party was worthy of such an award."

'Intriguing winners'

The politician of the year award is a relatively new honour for the magazine, with Mr Cameron being its second recipient.

Mr Grieve was praised for his "skilled and assiduous performances in the House of Commons where he has continued all year to harass the government and call ministers to account".

The Spectator's editor, Mr Johnson, is a Cameron supporter but did not have a vote in the contest, which was judged by a panel of journalists.

The panel included George Jones, Andrew Gimson and Frank Johnson, of The Daily Telegraph, Frank Johnson, Peter Oborne, of The Spectator, Anne McElvoy, of The Evening Standard, Anne Trenneman, The Times Trevor Kavanagh, of The Sun, Alan Watkins, of The Independent, Quentin Letts, of The Daily Mail and Michael White, of The Guardian.

Mr Johnson said: "Yet again our judges have come up with an intriguing set of winners representing all shades of parliamentary opinion."

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific