BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Monday, 10 November, 2003, 18:03 GMT
Howard's shadow team
Here is the full list of Tory leader Michael Howard's frontbench team.

Shadow cabinet

  • Shadow chancellor - Oliver Letwin

  • Foreign affairs - Michael Ancram

  • Home affairs - David Davis

  • Education and health - Tim Yeo

  • Transport and environment - Theresa May

  • Leader in the Lords - Lord Strathclyde

  • Local and devolved government affairs - David Curry

  • Joint party chairmen - Liam Fox and Lord Saatchi

  • Head of policy co-ordination - David Willetts

  • Chief whip - David Maclean

    Shadow ministers outside the shadow cabinet

  • Defence - Nicholas Soames

  • International development - John Bercow

  • Trade - James Arbuthnot

  • Shadow chief secretary to the Treasury - Howard Flight

  • Shadow industry spokesman - Stephen O'Brien

  • Shadow attorney general - Dominic Grieve

  • Constitutional affairs spokesman- Alan Duncan

  • Culture, media and sport spokesman - Julie Kirkbride

  • Shadow education - Tim Collins

  • Shadow health - Andrew Lansley

  • Environment and spokesman for women - Caroline Spelman

  • Transport spokesman - Damian Green

  • Agriculture, fisheries and food - John Whittingdale

  • Shadow Commons leader - Oliver Heald

  • Local government - Eric Pickles

  • Regions - Bernard Jenkin

  • Northern Ireland - David Liddington

  • Wales - Bill Wiggin

  • Scotland - Peter Duncan

    Other shadow ministers in the Lords:

  • Deputy Lords leader - Baroness Blatch

  • Shadow lord chancellor - Lord Kingsland

  • Chief whip (Lords) - Lord Cope of Berkeley

  • Deputy chief whip (Lords) - Baroness Seccombe

  • Deputy chief whip (Commons) - Patrick McLoughlin

    Deputy Tory chairmen

  • Charles Hendry MP and David Cameron MP

    Other shadow ministers:

  • Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP, John Hayes MP, Christopher Chope MP, Greg Knight MP, Anne McIntosh MP, Simon Burns MP, Tim Loughton MP, Tim Boswell MP, Eleanor Laing MP, Jacqui Lait MP, Humfrey Malins MP, Patrick Mercer MP, Andrew Mitchell MP, Laurence Robertson MP and Andrew Tyrie MP.

    The BBC's Laura Trevelyan
    "The team Michael Howard hopes will take the party back to power"

    Joint Tory Party Chairman Liam Fox MP
    "I think the party is more unified than it has been in a decade"

    The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


    News Front Page | World | UK | England | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales | Politics
    Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health | Education
    Have Your Say | Magazine | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
    Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific