BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Friday, 13 June, 2003, 17:55 GMT 18:55 UK
Full list: Government reshuffle
A list of the ministerial changes in Tony Blair's reshuffle


  • Alan Milburn quits as health secretary

  • Dr John Reid moves from Commons leader to health secretary

  • Lord Falconer joins cabinet as head of new constitutional affairs department

  • Peter Hain becomes Commons leader, but retains role speaking on Welsh affairs

    Alistair Darling adds Scottish affairs to role as transport secretary

    Helen Liddell quits as Scotland Secretary

    Lord Irvine leaves role of Lord Chancellor


  • Estelle Morris rejoins government as arts minister

  • Environment minister Michael Meacher steps down

  • Margaret Hodge promoted to children's minister

  • Nick Brown leaves government and role as work and pensions minister

  • Ms Hodge replaced by ex-Employment Minister Alan Johnson as Minister for Higher Education

  • Barbara Roche leaves government

  • John Spellar moves from transport minister to become Minister of State in Northern Ireland

  • Des Browne switches from Northern Ireland to the Department of Work and Pensions

  • Keith Hill moves to Office of the Deputy Prime Minister

  • Mike O'Brien adds trade and industry brief to foreign office role

  • Baroness Symons goes to foreign office

  • Hazel Blears joins the home office with Baroness Scotland

  • Jacqui Smith joins trade and industry and is also deputy minister for women

  • Elliot Morley replaces Michael Meacher as environment minister of state

  • Malcolm Wicks promoted within Work and Pensions Department

  • Dr Kim Howells is moved becoming transport minister

  • Rosie Winterton promoted to Minister of State at the health department


  • Yvette Cooper moves from Lord Chancellor's department to Office of the Deputy Prime Minister

  • Stephen Ladyman joins government as junior minister in health

  • Fiona Mactaggart joins government as a junior minister in the home office

  • Chris Mullin returns to government joining the Foreign Office

  • David Lammy moves from health to join the department for constitutional affairs

  • Lord Filkin and Christopher Leslie also join the new department

  • Caroline Flint appointed as home office minister

  • Gerry Sutcliffe appointed to trade and industry

  • Ben Bradshaw moves to environment from deputy leader of the Commons

  • Melanie Johnson becomes junior health minister

  • Lord Warner also joins health

  • Ivor Caplin moves from whips office to Ministry of Defence

  • Lord McIntosh joins culture department

  • Gareth Thomas appointed to international development department

  • Chris Pond goes to work and pensions department

  • Tony McNulty joins transport

  • Phil Woolas appointed as deputy leader of the Commons


  • Brian Wilson steps down as energy minister

  • Baroness Blackstone leaves culture department and government

  • Lord MacDonald retires as cabinet office minister

  • International development minister Sally Keeble leaves government

  • Dr Lewis Moonie quits as defence minister


    Bob Ainsworth

    Jim Fitzpatrick

    Vernon Coaker

    Paul Clark

    Margaret Moran

    Bridget Prentice

    The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


    News Front Page | World | UK | England | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales | Politics
    Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health | Education
    Have Your Say | Magazine | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
    Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific