BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Monday, 19 May, 2003, 15:15 GMT 16:15 UK
Where is it safe to travel?

Official advice to British travellers has been revised by the UK Foreign Office amid renewed concern over the global threat of terrorism and following a spate of suicide bombings.

Last week the UK Government issued a warning of a "clear terrorist threat" in the East African countries of Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia, Tanzania and Uganda.

It had already banned British flights to and from Kenya amid fears they could be targeted by the al-Qaeda network.

Most advice is issued due to the threat of terrorism but in the Democratic Republic of the Congo it is due to internal unrest.

Here is the full list of countries where Britons are advised against all travel:


Central African Republic




Afghanistan (except Kabul)

Albania (north east Border areas between Albania and Kosovo)

Algeria (to the desert and mountainous areas of the south east)

Azerbaijan (western region of Nagorno-Karabakh and the militarily occupied area surrounding it)

Chad (the Borkou-Ennedi-Tibesti provinces and areas around the Chad-Sudan border)

Colombia (all Provinces of Choco, Putumayo, Meta and Caqueta and to rural areas of Antioquia, Cauca, Narino and Norte de Santander Provinces only)

Congo (Outside Brazzaville and Pointe Noire)

Congo (Democratic Republic) (Outside Kinshasa and the government-controlled town of Lubumbashi)

Ecuador (northern border areas with Colombia, particularly Sucumbios, Orellana and Napo Provinces)

Eritrea (border areas with Ethiopia)

Ethiopia (within 20Km of border with Eritrea in the Tigray & Afar regions, parts of Gambella & Awash, Metahara/Awash National Park and the immediately surrounding areas. The border with Somalia.)

Guinea (border region with Liberia & Sierra Leone only)

India (Jammu and Kashmir, areas of Gujarat, Rajasthan and Punjab close to the border, and areas of Ladakh close to the Line of Control)

Israel and the Occupied Territories (areas of Israel close to Israeli borders with Lebanon and Gaza; West Bank and Gaza)

Ivory Coast (except Abidjan)

Jordan (southern city of Ma'an only)

Kyrgyzstan (south & west of Osh and the Ferghana Valley Region only)

Namibia (immediate border areas with Angola only)

Nigeria (Bakassi Peninsula on the border with Cameroon)

Philippines (central, southern and western Mindanao or to Basilan or the Sulu archipelago)

Russian Federation (Chechen Republic & north Caucasus region only)

Somalia (southern Somalia, the north-eastern area (Puntland and the Sool and Sanaag regions of Somaliland)

Sri Lanka (north and east only unless as with an international agency or NGO)

Sudan (Eritrean border/ Kassala area)

Uganda (Gulu including Murchison Falls Nat. Pk., Kitgum, Adjumani, Apac & Lira Districts, the Karamoja region of Eastern Uganda (Kotido, Moroto & Nakapiripiri Districts), Katakwi District & Bundibugyo District inc. Semliki Nat. Pk. (not the game reserve) only)

Here is the full list of countries where the FCO advises against travel unless on essential business:



East Timor (Democratic Republic of)


Hong Kong




Saudi Arabia

Sierra Leone

Afghanistan (Kabul only)

Albania (north east)

Azerbaijan (Zagatala area only)

China (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanxi, Guangdong and Inner Mongolia Provinces only)

Congo (Brazzaville and Pointe Noire only)

Ethiopia (East of the Harar to Gode line)

Ivory Coast (Abidjan)

Moldova (Transnistria (north-east Moldova) only Papua New Guinea Southern Highland Province and Enga Province

Philippines (Mindanao)

Rwanda (rural areas in Cyangugu Province bordering Burundi (Gishoma, Dugarama, Kibangiro, Bugumya, Gasumo & Bweyeye)only)

Serbia and Montenegro (Kosovo only)

Solomon Islands (Guadalcanal and Malaita)

Sudan (southern Sudan, except for those engaged in relief work)

Taiwan (Taipei only)

Tajikistan (specifically the Karategin (Rasht) valley, Kofarnihon and Tavildara areas (all in central Tajikistan), mountainous areas bordering Kyrgyzstan & Uzbekistan and districts bordering Afghanistan. Yugoslavia (Kosovo only)

Saudi arrests over suicide attacks
18 May 03  |  Middle East
Morocco 'identifies bombers'
18 May 03  |  Africa
BA 'targeted by al-Qaeda'
17 May 03  |  UK

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | World | UK | England | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales | Politics
Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health | Education
Have Your Say | Magazine | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific