BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Friday, 4 May 2007, 11:09 GMT 12:09 UK
Convener loses place on council
Dumfries and Galloway Council
Tories and the SNP both won five extra seats on the council
Former Dumfries and Galloway Council convener Tommy Sloan has failed to get elected to the new authority.

The Labour councillor was one of the major casualties of the vote along with Lib Dem leader Joan Mitchell and Tory leader Neil McKay.

Both Conservatives and SNP saw their number of seats on the council increase by five - to 18 and 10 respectively.

Labour gained one place while the Lib Dems dropped one spot. The number of independents fell from 12 to just two.

It leaves Dumfries and Galloway Council with no political group in overall control.

Seats lost

Prior to the elections a Labour minority administration ran the authority.

A number of sitting councillors lost their seats on the night.

Long-standing Labour representative Tom McAughtrie failed to secure a spot in the Abbey ward.

Independent Moses Kungu was another who did not retain a place - this time in Mid and Upper Nithsdale.

Elected again

There were, however, several councillors who will be returning to the chamber in English Street.

Labour's Willie Scobie, Grahame Forster, David McKie, Ronnie Nicholson, Jim Dempster, Sean Marshall and Ronnie Ogilvie were elected again.

Robert Higgins and Alisdair Geddes of the SNP, Lib Dems Sandra McDowall and Michael Dickie and Tories Patsy Gilroy, Bruce Hodgson, Ivor Hyslop, Roger Grant, Allan Graham, Ian Lindsay and Denis Male all make their return.

The only independents left on the council - Jane Maitland and George Prentice - were both part of the last authority.

A total of 27 new names were successful - including Scottish Tory party chairman Peter Duncan.

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific