BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Friday, 22 July 2005, 12:08 GMT 13:08 UK
Four join race for SNP presidency
Winnie Ewing
Winnie Ewing is standing down as SNP president
The fight to become the next president of the Scottish National Party will feature four contenders.

The election was triggered by Winnie Ewing's announcement last week that she would be standing down from the role.

Nationalist veterans Douglas Henderson, Kay Ullrich, Billy Wolfe and last-minute entry Ian Hudghton have put their names forward.

Nominations closed on Friday and voting will take place at the SNP's national conference in Aviemore on 24 September.

Mr Henderson is a former MP for East Aberdeenshire and senior vice-chairman of the party while Ms Ullrich is the former chief whip at Holyrood who stepped down as an MSP two years ago.

Mr Wolfe led the SNP in the 1970s and has previously served as party president.

Mr Hudghton is a former leader of Angus Council who was elected to the European Parliament in 1998, where he is leader of the SNP group.

Party leader Alex Salmond and his deputy Nicola Sturgeon have been nominated unopposed to continue in their posts.

SNP veteran given historic desk
25 Nov 04 |  Scotland
Blair 'created terror conditions'
25 Sep 04 |  Scotland
Independence 'five years away'
27 Jun 04 |  Scotland
SNP veteran Ewing to retire
22 Jul 01 |  Scotland
MSPs pledge allegiance to 'Scottish people'
28 Jun 99 |  Scottish Parliament opening

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | World | UK | England | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales | Politics
Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health | Education
Have Your Say | Magazine | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific