BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC OneQuestion Time



Last Updated: Tuesday, 3 July 2007, 10:04 GMT 11:04 UK
Schools Question Time panel finallists announced
Five young people have been chosen to compete for a place on the panel of the BBC programme Schools Question Time.

Top row (L to R): Charles Bell, James Brennan, Tabassum Rasheed; bottom row: Vijay Vikram, Question Time logo, Jonathan Wright

Charles Bell, James Brennan, Tabassum Rasheed, Vijay Vikram and Jonathan Wright will be taking part in a studio audition to decide which one of them will appear on BBC One's flagship political programme, broadcast on Thursday, 5 July.

He or she will go head-to-head with four well-known public figures, including Ed Miliband MP, Sir Malcolm Rifkind MP and Davina McCall.

This special programme is being made by eight student winners of the 2007 Schools Question Time challenge.

Hot competition

Jack and Daniel are the students looking after selection of the panel for Schools Question Time and, along with the other students, drew up a shortlist of 10 suitable candidates.

Each of the candidates entered the panel competition by submitting a one minute video clip explaining why they should be given the chance to appear on the show.

All 10 clips were displayed on the Schools Question Time website, where the public were invited to vote for their favourite.

The vote closed at midday on Friday, 29 June.

The challenge

The Schools Question Time programme is the final product of a far wider education initiative to help schools nationwide by supporting the citizenship curriculum, helping improve students' public speaking and listening skills and engaging young people in society and politics.

Schools across the UK, with pupils aged 14-19, were eligible to enter the challenge.

Participating schools were invited to plan a Question Time event, selecting topics and a panel to discuss the chosen issues.

Twelve schools were selected to stage their own local Schools Question Time events in March in front of a team of judges who selected the four winning schools.

Alongside the BBC, the Schools Question Time Challenge is supported by the BT Better World Campaign, the Institute for Citizenship and the Times Educational Supplement.

This is the fourth year the event has been held.

Schools Question Time will be broadcast on Thursday, 5 July, 2007 at 2235 BST on BBC One.

Pick Question Time's young panellist
25 Jun 07 |  Schools Question Time


Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit

banner watch listen bbc sport Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific