BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Wednesday, 2 November 2005, 17:01 GMT
Photographer of the Year 2005: The final
Entry 1 Entry 2 Entry 3 Entry 4 Entry 5 Entry 6 Entry 7 Entry 8 Entry 9 Entry 10 Entry 11 Entry 12
Photographer of the year:Final Vote

After many weeks of competition a winner has been chosen by you, but only just.

Following a close run final, JP Trenque just edged ahead of Martina Brandstetter to take the title of BBC News Photographer of the Year 2005.

However, the vote was so close we will offer Martina a prize too.
WINNER: JP Trenque
2nd: Martina Brandstetter
3rd: Jeremy Hunter
4th: Tom Sullam
Benjimin Beer
Martin Jordan
Midori Jordan
Martin Konrad
Gregoire A. Meyer
Keith Naylor
Robert Prendergast
Jan Michael Racoma

Special award

The special prize chosen by us, has been awarded to Grant Hodgeon for his entry in the Environment category. He wins a handmade pinhole camera.

Our thanks

We'd like to offer our thanks to all of you who took the time to send us your photographs.

As you can imagine with over 12,000 entries there were many outstanding pictures that didn't make the final cut, maybe next year your photo will be selected.


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific