BBC Homepage World Service Education
BBC Homepagelow graphics version | feedback | help
BBC News Online
 You are in: Health
Front Page 
UK Politics 
Background Briefings 
Medical notes 
Talking Point 
In Depth 
Friday, 16 June, 2000, 21:23 GMT 22:23 UK
Health workers honoured
Members of the medical establishment are to be honoured
Dozens of researchers, doctors and other health workers are to be honoured by the Queen.

Among the better known figures in the UK medical scene to receive a knighthood are Professor Roddy MacSween, who said he was "naturally delighted" at the recognition of his career.

He retired as a consultant pathologist, based in Glasgow, last September but remained as president of the Royal College of Pathologists until November and as chairman of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges until earlier this month.

He added: "I have never been ambitious. I just kept being asked to do things and then I think I did them fairly well and so I was asked to do other things. Essentially I suppose I am a workaholic.

"I have thoroughly enjoyed my professional life and I wouldn't change a thing."

Another key knighthood is for one of the leading lights behind the Cochrane Collaboration - Dr Iain Chalmers.

The collaboration, and the UK Cochrane Centre, founded in 1993, collects the results of medical research from around the globe so that UK doctors have the latest evidence at their fingertips.

Previously, they would have needed to trawl through hundreds of academic papers to get the information, a lengthy business which might prevent some busy doctors keeping up to date with the latest methods.

A spokesman for the centre said: "He played a key role in the establishment of the collaboration. This is a personal award, but he feels that it is also recognises the work the centre does as a whole."

John Chisholm
Dr John Chisholm will be made a CBE
Also honoured is Dr John Chisholm, the chairman of the GP's Committee at the British Medical Association. He is to be made a CBE.

Dr Chisholm said : "I am honoured and delighted to receive this award. I feel that it recognises not just my work but the work of the GPC and the support I have received from the staff and members of the Committee and the BMA."

Dr Chisholm has been chairman of the GPC since 1997 and is a GP in Twyford, Berkshire.

Here are the rest of the honours:


  • Dr Iain Geoffrey Chalmers, director, UK Cochrane Centre (Oxford)
  • Graham Morgan, executive director of nursing and quality, North West London Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Professor George Karoly Radda CBE, chief executive, Medical Research Council -
  • Nicholas Young, chief executive, Macmillan Cancer Relief


  • John David Barnard, Dean, Faculty of Dental Surgery, the Royal College of Surgeons of England
  • Professor Colin Bird, Provost and Dean, Faculty of Medicine, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Gautam Bodiwala, consultant in accident and emergency medicine, Royal Leicester Infirmary
  • Gill Denise Brook, clinical nurse specialist, Birmingham Children's Hospital
  • David Campbell, chairman, Health Education Board for Scotland
  • Leonard Fenwick, chief executive, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Professor Roderic Keith Griffiths, regional director of public health, NHS Executive
  • Dr Peter Homa, director, Commission for Health Improvement
  • Kim Manley, Royal College of Nursing
  • Dr Ann McPherson, GP
  • Professor Robert George Will, director, Creutzfeldt-Jacob Disease Surveillance Unit


  • Mary Josephine Brydon (Norwich) - for services to allergy nursing
  • Professor Yvonne Helen Carter, professor of general practice and primary care, Queen Mary and Westfield College, London
  • Dr Jagdish Chander Chawla, consultant ophthalmologist, Royal Alexandra Hospital NHS Trust, Paisley
  • Wendy Colley (Cumbria) - for services to continence nursing
  • Hermione Mary Crosfield (London) - for services to the British Red Cross
  • Mr Aires Angelo Barnabe Barros D'Sa, consultant vascular surgeon, Royal Victoria Hospital, Antrim
  • Jill Evans, founder, Cardiac Rehabilitation Clinic, Royal Gwent Hospital
  • Margaret Garbett, former ward manager, Spinal Injuries Unit, Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt District Orthapaedic Hospital, Oswestry
  • Elisabeth Cargill Hill, former vice-chairman, Scottish Association for Mental Health
  • Professor Amritpal Singh Hungin, GP (Stockton on Tees)
  • Mrs Leila Lessof. Chairman, Moorfields NHS Hospital Trust.
  • Rafeek Hosni Mahmood. Medical director, Wirral Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Professor Barry McCormick (Notts) - for services to paediatric audiology
  • Miss Linda Joyce Patterson. Medical director, Burnley Health Care NHS Trust
  • Marianne Rigge. Director, College of Health
  • Joan Rule (south Wales) - for services to psychiatry in the elderly
  • Marjorie Small. Manager, Clinical Haematology Unit, Heartlands Hospital, Birmingham
  • Anne Judith Weyman. Chief executive, Family Planning Association
  • Paul Michael Williams. Chief executive, Bro Morgannwg Trust, Wales
Search BBC News Online

Advanced search options
Launch console
See also:

31 Dec 99 | Health
Knighthood after 50 years
16 Jun 00 | Birthday Honours 2000
Guide to the Honours
Links to more Health stories are at the foot of the page.

E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Health stories