Page last updated at 00:11 GMT, Wednesday, 17 March 2010

Booker winner Hilary Mantel on Orange Prize longlist

Hilary Mantel
Mantel won the Booker Prize for Wolf Hall in October last year

Booker Prize winner Hilary Mantel has been longlisted for this year's Orange Prize for Fiction.

Mantel has been nominated for her historical novel Wolf Hall, based on Henry VIII's adviser Thomas Cromwell.

She is joined on the 20-strong list by fellow Booker nominee Sarah Waters, previous Orange Prize winner Andrea Levy, and seven first-time novelists.

Now in its 15th year, the Orange Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women's writing.

'Tough process'

A shortlist will be revealed on 20 April, with the winner announced at a ceremony on 9 June, where the prize of £30,000 will be presented.

Author and TV producer Daisy Goodwin, chairwoman of the judges, said it was a "muscular and pleasurable" longlist.

"It was a tough judging process as there was a particularly strong range of books submitted from all over the world," she said.

Goodwin is joined on the panel by rabbi, author and broadcaster Baroness Neuberger; novelist and critic Michele Roberts; journalist Miranda Sawyer; and British Vogue editor Alexandra Shulman.

Five authors appearing on this year's list have previously been longlisted for the prize, and a further four authors have been previously shortlisted.

Any woman writing in English, whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter, is eligible.

Previous winners include Marilynne Robinson for Home (2009), Rose Tremain for The Road Home (2008), Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for Half of a Yellow Sun (2007), Zadie Smith for On Beauty (2006).

The longlist in full:

Rosie Alison - The Very Thought of You

Eleanor Catton - The Rehearsal

Clare Clark - Savage Lands

Amanda Craig - Hearts and Minds

Roopa Farooki -The Way Things Look to Me

Rebecca Gowers - The Twisted Heart

MJ Hyland - This is How

Sadie Jones - Small Wars

Barbara Kingsolver - The Lacuna

Laila Lalami - Secret Son

Andrea Levy - The Long Song

Attica Locke - Black Water Rising

Hilary Mantel - Wolf Hall

Maria McCann - The Wilding

Nadifa Mohamed - Black Mamba Boy

Lorrie Moore - A Gate at the Stairs

Monique Roffey - The White Woman on the Green Bicycle

Amy Sackville - The Still Point

Kathryn Stockett - The Help

Sarah Waters - The Little Stranger

Print Sponsor

Robinson takes home Orange Prize
03 Jun 09 |  Arts & Culture
First-timer nominated for Orange
21 Apr 09 |  Arts & Culture
New novelist up for fiction prize
18 Mar 09 |  Entertainment

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific