Page last updated at 12:47 GMT, Wednesday, 11 November 2009

Star Trek creator to join TV Hall

Gene Roddenberry
Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry died in 1991

The late Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry will be posthumously inducted into the US Television Academy's Hall of Fame in January.

Roddenberry's Star Trek franchise includes seven TV series and 10 films. The first TV series began in 1966.

Other inductees will be comedy duo Tom and Dick Smothers and actress Candice Bergen, who starred in 1990s CBS comedy Murphy Brown.

Saturday Night Live announcer Don Pardo will also be honoured.

25th anniversary

The Price is Right creator Bob Stewart and Emmy-award winning art director Charles Lisanby will also be inducted.

"This year's inductees have challenged and shaped popular culture and entertained us royally while doing so," said Television Academy chairman John Shaffner.

The first Hall of Fame induction ceremony in 1984 celebrated the careers of stars including Lucille Ball.

Hall of Fame candidates are submitted from the Television Academy's membership and the industry at large to the Hall of Fame selection committee.

The new group of inductees will be honoured at a ceremony on 20 January at the Beverly Hills Hotel in Los Angeles.

Print Sponsor

Space travel for Star Trek couple
27 Jan 09 |  Entertainment
Trek creator's widow dies aged 76
19 Dec 08 |  Entertainment
Star Trek's ex-chief movie praise
02 Jun 09 |  Mid Wales

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific