BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Wednesday, 2 January 2008, 19:30 GMT
Costa Book Award list announced
The five nominees for the Costa Book Award

Comedian AL Kennedy and historian Simon Sebag Montefiore have been shortlisted for the Costa Book of the Year.

Catherine O'Flynn, Jean Sprackland and Ann Kelley complete the nominees for the prize, announced on 22 January.

The five writers were put forward after being revealed as winners of the Costa Book Awards' individual categories.

Kennedy had top novel, Sebag Montefiore had best biography and O'Flynn's book was top first novel. Sprackland won for poetry and Kelley for children's books.

Ann Kelley, The Bower Bird
AL Kennedy, Day
Catherine O'Flynn, What Was Lost
Simon Sebag Montefiore, Young Stalin
Jean Sprackland, Tilt

The authors each receive 5,000 for reaching this stage in the competition, and the overall winner will earn 50,000.

Kennedy's novel Day tells of a man who was a tail-gunner in a Lancaster bomber in World War II, and who subsequently becomes an extra in a film about prisoners of war.

The judges described it as "a masterpiece" which told of "the waste and eventual resurrection of a young life shattered by war".

Lost - by former postal worker O'Flynn - was an "extraordinary" tale, "blending humour and pathos in a cleverly constructed and absorbing mystery", the panel said.

It is based in a shopping centre, and brings together a security guard, a music-store manager and a girl who is lost inside the building.

'Rare and beautiful'

Sebag Montefiore was said to have written "everything you could ask for from a biography" in Young Stalin, an account of the life of Soviet dictator Joseph Stalin.

It featured "exhaustive research, a compelling subject and a beautifully written narrative that will endure as a portrain of one of the towering figures of modern history", the judges said.

Brian Thompson, John Haynes, Stef Penney, William Boyd and Linda Newbery
Stef Penney (centre) came top out of last year's shortlisted authors
They described Kelley's novel The Bower Bird as "a rare and beautiful book of lasting quality" which portrayed "the world of life and death, beauty and truth, seen through the eyes of a 12-year-old girl".

The child in question is awaiting a heart transplant and rebels when her family moves house.

And the poetry winner, Sprackland, had produced "a great collection" of work about chaos and calamity in Tilt, the panel added.

It contained "crafted and delicate poems that tell us what it is to be alive".

Last year's Costa Book of the Year was The Tenderness of Wolves by London author Stef Penney.

The prize was previously sponsored by Whitbread and was established in 1971.

Blur star leads Costa book panel
10 Dec 07 |  Entertainment
Women dominate Costa shortlists
21 Nov 07 |  Entertainment
Debut novelist wins Costa award
08 Feb 07 |  Entertainment
Boyd wins Costa best novel prize
09 Jan 07 |  Entertainment
Authors picked for Costa Awards
28 Nov 06 |  Entertainment


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific