BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Wednesday, 6 July, 2005, 09:19 GMT 10:19 UK
91 countries up for foreign Oscar
Javier Bardem in The Sea Inside
The Sea Inside starring Javier Bardem was last year's recipient
Ninety-one countries have been invited to submit movies for consideration for next year's foreign film Oscar.

The countries range from developing nations to industrialised powers, with the Republic of Kazakhstan receiving its first invitation this year.

Spanish drama The Sea Inside won the 2005 Oscar for best foreign film in February, beating titles from France, Germany, South Africa and Sweden.

The 2006 Oscars will be held on 5 March at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood.

Since 1956, 99 different countries have submitted films to the foreign language competition.

Last year's award drew entries from 50 countries, including Iran, Afghanistan and China.

Only one picture will be accepted from each country and must be submitted to the Academy by 14 October.

The first Oscar for best foreign language film was awarded in 1947 to Italy's Shoe Shine, directed by Vittorio De Sica.

Sea Inside's death debate
12 Feb 05 |  Film

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


News Front Page | World | UK | England | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales | Politics
Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health | Education
Have Your Say | Magazine | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific