BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Monday, 16 January 2006, 22:54 GMT
'Passionate' poems scoop 10,000
Carol Ann Duffy
Carol Ann Duffy was made an OBE in 1995
Poet Carol Ann Duffy has won the TS Eliot Prize for Rapture, her latest collection of verse.

The Glasgow writer beat poets including Polly Clark, David Harsent and Sinead Morrissey to the 10,000 prize.

Rapture was described as "coherent and passionate" by judges who named it the best collection of new poetry published in the UK and Ireland.

Awarded by the Poetry Book Society, the prize was presented by TS Eliot's widow Valerie at a London ceremony.

Acclaimed playwright

Duffy, 50, read philosophy at Liverpool University before editing poetry magazine Ambit.

She previously won the Whitbread Poetry Award and Forward Poetry Prize for her 1993 collection Mean Time. She was made an OBE in 1995.

Duffy is also an acclaimed playwright, having written works such as Take My Husband, Loss and Little Women, Big Boys.

It re-animates and continues a long tradition of the poetry of love and loss
David Constantine,
TS Eliot Prize chair of judges
Rapture is a highly personal collection of love poems which move from first encounters to rows, adultery, parting and recrimination.

David Constantine, chair of the judges, said: "In the language and circumstances of our day and age, it re-animates and continues a long tradition of the poetry of love and loss."

TS Eliot was a founder member of the Poetry Book Society in 1953.

The awards were introduced in 1993 to mark its 40th anniversary, with past winners including Ted Hughes, Don Paterson and Alice Oswald.

Life after million pound poetry
13 Jan 06 |  Entertainment
Motion cheers online poem archive
14 Dec 05 |  Technology


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific