BBC NEWS Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific Arabic Spanish Russian Chinese Welsh

 You are in:  Entertainment: Arts
Front Page 
UK Politics 
TV and Radio 
New Media 
Talking Point 
In Depth 

Commonwealth Games 2002

BBC Sport

BBC Weather

Thursday, 16 May, 2002, 23:24 GMT 00:24 UK
Johnson 'longlist' announced
David Dimbleby
David Dimbleby will chair the panel of judges
The organisers of Britain's most valuable non-fiction literary prize have announced their "longlist" of 21 candidates.

The BBC Four Samuel Johnson Prize rewards the best in non-fiction from biographies and travel to science and arts books, with the winner receiving 30,000.

The entries include Miranda Carter's biogaphy of spy Anthony Blunt, Roy Jenkins' Churchill and Trieste and the Meaning of Nowhere by Jan Morris.

BBC broadcaster David Dimbleby will be chairing the panel of judges.

Also on the panel will be Sunday Times literary editor Caroline Gascoigne, writer and critic Bonnie Greer, geologist and scientific writer Richard Fortey and Enigma author Robert Harris.

War studies

The next step will be to whittle down the list of 21 authors down to a shortlist of six in early June before the winner is announced on Monday 24 June.

The first winner - in 1999 - was Anthony Beevor's Stalingrad, and The Third Reich: A New History by Michael Burleigh picked up the prize last year.

The single volume work is a radical re-examination of the Third Reich, which charts the rise of Nazi Germany, recreating life under a totalitarian dictatorship.

Digital arts and culture channel BBC Four recently announced it would sponsor the award and televise the ceremony in a three-year deal.

It is open to books in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

The full "longlist" is:

  • Old Man Goya by Julia Blackburn

  • Anthony Blunt: His Lives by Miranda Carter

  • Captain Cook by Vanessa Collingridge

  • The Voices of Morebath by Eamon Duffy

  • The Snow Geese by William Fiennes

  • Ninety Degrees North by Fergus Fleming

  • Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight by Alexandra Fuller

  • The Invention of Clouds by Richard Hamblyn

  • The Scottish Enlightenment by Arthur Herman

  • Redcoat by Richard Holmes

  • Churchill by Roy Jenkins

  • Emergence by Steven Johnson

  • Peacemakers by Margaret Macmillan

  • Paris Between Empires 1814-1852 by Philip Mansel

  • Trieste and the Meaning of Nowhere by Jan Morris

  • The Intellectual Life of the British Working Classes by Jonathan Rose

  • Islam's Black Slaves by Ronald Segal

  • Painted Shadow by Carole Seymour-Jones

  • Unfinest Hour by Brendan Simms

  • The Common Thread by John Sulston and Georgina Ferry

  • God: A Guide for the Perplexed by Keith Ward

  • See also:

    08 Feb 02 | Arts
    BBC Four to sponsor book prize
    18 Jan 02 | TV and Radio
    BBC Four promises 'culture feast'
    01 Feb 02 | Arts
    Tracey Emin promotes BBC Four
    22 May 01 | Arts
    Johnson shortlist unveiled
    04 Jan 01 | Entertainment
    Whitbread winners square up
    13 Jun 01 | Arts
    Nazi history scoops book prize
    Internet links:

    The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

    Links to more Arts stories are at the foot of the page.

    E-mail this story to a friend

    Links to more Arts stories