BBC NEWS Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific Arabic Spanish Russian Chinese Welsh

 You are in:  Entertainment: TV and Radio
Front Page 
UK Politics 
TV and Radio 
New Media 
Talking Point 
In Depth 

Commonwealth Games 2002

BBC Sport

BBC Weather

Thursday, 11 April, 2002, 23:52 GMT 00:52 UK
More honours for The Office
Ricky Gervais
A second series of The Office is being filmed now
BBC Two comedy The Office won more honours on Friday by scooping two prizes from the Broadcasting Press Guild.

Creators and stars Ricky Gervais and Stephen Marchant won the writers' award, while the series - set in a paper merchants on a Slough industrial estate - won the entertainment honour.

It adds to a list of accolades for the edgy comedy, which include honours from the Royal Television Society and the South Bank Awards.

BBC programmes took all but 2 of the 13 prizes from the guild, which were handed out at a lunchtime ceremony on Friday.

The serialisation of The Way We Live Now, adapted by Andrew Davies and shown on BBC One, won best drama serial, while David Suchet was named best actor for his performance as swindler Augustus Melmotte.

ITV1's sole award went to LWT's production of Othello - also adapted by Andrew Davies - which saw Shakespeare's Moor become London's first black police commissioner.

David Suchet
David Suchet in The Way We Live Now
Natural history epic The Blue Planet won best documentary series, while an Arena documentary on Dirk Bogarde won best single documentary.

The BBC's political editor Andrew Marr was named best non-acting performer, while his colleague Sue MacGregor, who recently retired from Radio 4's Today, won radio broadcaster of the year.

Radio 2 controller Jim Moir won the Harvey Lee award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting for a career which has also seen him produce The Generation Game and other light entertainment series.

The Broadcasting Press Guild is an association of more than 100 journalists who specialise in the media. Its chairman is Ray Snoddy, media editor of The Times.

Awards in full:

Best Single Drama: Othello (LWT/WGBH for ITV1)

Best Drama Series/Serial: The Way We Live Now (BBC/WGBH/DeepIndigo for BBC One)

Best Documentary Series: The Blue Planet (BBC One)

Best Single Documentary: Arena: The Private Dirk Bogarde (BBC Two)

Best Entertainment: The Office (BBC Two)

Best Actor: David Suchet (The Way We Live Now)

Best Actress: Lesley Sharp (Bob and Rose, Clocking Off)

Best Performer (Non-Acting) Andrew Marr (Political Editor, BBC News)

Writer's Award (joint): Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant (The Office)

Radio Programme of the Year: The Archive Hour (BBC Radio 4)

Radio Broadcaster of the Year: Sue MacGregor (Today, BBC Radio 4)

Multichannel Award: Freestyler (MTV Base)

Harvey Lee Award for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting: Jim Moir

See also:

30 Jan 02 | TV and Radio
Why Ricky Gervais loves Office life
20 Mar 02 | TV and Radio
BBC Two reveals Spring plans
20 Mar 02 | TV and Radio
BBC Two dominates TV awards
Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to more TV and Radio stories are at the foot of the page.

E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more TV and Radio stories