BBC NEWS Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific Arabic Spanish Russian Chinese Welsh

 You are in:  Entertainment: Film
Front Page 
UK Politics 
TV and Radio 
New Media 
Talking Point 
In Depth 

Commonwealth Games 2002

BBC Sport

BBC Weather

Sunday, 24 February, 2002, 20:33 GMT
Bafta winners in full
Richard E Grant in Robert Altman's Gosford Park
Robert Altman's Gosford Park: Two awards

Best film
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Also nominated:
A Beautiful Mind
Moulin Rouge

Alexander Korda award for the outstanding British film of the year
Gosford Park

Also nominated:
Bridget Jones's Diary
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Me Without You

David Lean award for achievement in direction
The Lord Of The Rings: Peter Jackson

Also nominated:
Amelie: Jean-Pierre Jeunet
A Beautiful Mind: Ron Howard
Gosford Park: Robert Altman
Moulin Rouge: Baz Luhrmann

Performance by an actress in a leading role
Dame Judi Dench: Iris

Also nominated:
Nicole Kidman: The Others
Sissy Spacek: In The Bedroom
Audrey Tautou: Amelie
Renée Zellweger: Bridget Jones's Diary

Performance by an actor in a leading role
Russell Crowe: A Beautiful Mind

Also nominated:
Jim Broadbent: Iris
Sir Ian McKellen: The Lord of the Rings
Kevin Spacey: The Shipping News
Tom Wilkinson: In The Bedroom

Performance by an actress in a supporting role
Jennifer Connelly: A Beautiful Mind

Also nominated:
Dame Judi Dench: The Shipping News
Helen Mirren: Gosford Park
Maggie Smith: Gosford Park
Kate Winslet: Iris

Performance by an actor in a supporting role
Jim Broadbent: Moulin Rouge

Also nominated:
Hugh Bonneville: Iris
Robbie Coltrane: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Colin Firth: Bridget Jones's Diary
Eddie Murphy: Shrek

Screenplay (original)
Amelie: Guillaume Laurant/Jean-Pierre Jeunet

Also nominated:
Gosford Park: Julian Fellowes
Moulin Rouge: Baz Luhrmann/Craig Pearce
The Others: Alejandro Amenábar
The Royal Tenenbaums: Wes Anderson/Owen Wilson

Screenplay (adapted)
Shrek: Ted Elliott/Terry Rossio/Joe Stillman/Roger SH Schulman

Also nominated:
A Beautiful Mind: Akiva Goldsman
Bridget Jones's Diary: Helen Fielding/Andrew Davies/Richard Curtis
Iris: Richard Eyre/Charles Wood
The Lord Of The Rings: Fran Walsh/Philippa Boyens/Peter Jackson

The Anthony Asquith award for the achievement in music
Moulin Rouge: Craig Armstrong

Also nominated:
Amelie: Yann Tiersen
The Lord Of The Rings: Howard Shore
Mulholland Drive: Angelo Badalamenti
Shrek: Harry Gregson-Williams/John Powell

Film not in the English language
Amores Perros: Alejandro González Ińárritu

Also nominated:
Amelie: Claudie Ossard/Jean-Pierre Jeunet
Behind The Sun: Arthur Cohn/Walter Salles
Monsoon Wedding: Caroline Baron/Mira Nair
The Piano Teacher: Veit Heiduschka/Michael Haneke

The Man Who Wasn't There: Roger Deakins

Also nominated:
Amelie: Bruno Delbonnel
Black Hawk Down: Slawomir Idziak
The Lord Of The Rings: Andrew Lesnie
Moulin Rouge: Donald M McAlpine

Production design
Amelie: Aline Bonetto

Also nominated:
Gosford Park: Stephen Altman
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone: Stuart Craig
The Lord Of The Rings: Grant Major
Moulin Rouge: Catherine Martin

Costume Design
Gosford Park: Jenny Beavan

Also nominated:
Harry Potter and The Philosopher's Stone: Judianna Makovsky
The Lord Of The Rings: Ngila Dickson
Moulin Rouge: Catherine Martin/Angus Strathie
Planet Of The Apes: Colleen Atwood

Mulholland Drive: Mary Sweeney

Also nominated:
Amelie: Hervé Schneid
Black Hawk Down: Pietro Scalia
The Lord Of The Rings: John Gilbert
Moulin Rouge: Jill Bilcock

Moulin Rouge

Also nominated:
Black Hawk Down
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
The Lord Of The Rings

Achievement in special visual effects
The Lord Of The Rings

Also nominated:
AI: Artificial Intelligence
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Moulin Rouge

Make-up and hair
The Lord Of The Rings

Also nominated:
Gosford Park
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Moulin Rouge
Planet Of The Apes

Short film
About A Girl

Also nominated:
The Red Peppers
Skin Deep

Short animation

Also nominated:
Home Road Movies
The World Of Interiors

Carl Foreman award
Joel Hopkins/Nicola Usbourne (director/producer): Jump Tomorrow

Also nominated:
Steve Coogan/Henry Normal (writers): The Parole Officer
Julian Fellowes (writer): Gosford Park
Ruth Kenley-Letts (producer): Strictly Sinatra
Jack Lothian (writer): Late Night Shopping

Special award
Eon Productions - the makers of the James Bond films.

Michael Balcon award for outstanding contribution to British cinema
Stuntman Vic Armstrong

Was Harry Potter snubbed by Bafta?



11041 Votes Cast

Results are indicative and may not reflect public opinion

Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to more Film stories are at the foot of the page.

E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Film stories