BBC NEWS Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific Arabic Spanish Russian Chinese Welsh

 You are in: Entertainment: Arts
Front Page 
UK Politics 
TV and Radio 
New Media 
Talking Point 
In Depth 

Commonwealth Games 2002

BBC Sport

BBC Weather

Wednesday, 14 November, 2001, 09:52 GMT
McEwan in running for Whitbread
Ian McEwan
McEwan: Lost out to Peter Carey over Booker prize
Novelist Ian McEwan, recently beaten for the Booker Prize, is in the running for this year's Whitbread Prize for best novel with Atonement.

Joining McEwan on the best novel shortlist are Helen Dunmore, Patrick Neate and Andrew Miller - who was also nominated for the Booker.

Carl Tighe
Carl Tighe: Rejected by 25 publishers
The Whitbread Prize, which this year increased its total prize fund to 50,000, is seen as second only to the Booker in the UK book world.

The prizes are awarded in six categories - best novel - which offers a 30,000 award - best first novel, best poetry collection, best biography, best children's book - and the book of the year, chosen from the other five categories.

Among the well-known authors' names on the shortlists are Monty Python's Terry Jones, nominated in the children's category for The Lady And The Squire, and poet Wendy Cope, nominated for her collection If I Don't Know.

Nominations for debut novels include Burning Worm by Carl Tighe.

Eva Ibbotsen
Ibbotsen: A prize nominee at 76
Tighe, 51, had his book rejected by more than 25 publishers before his former landlady organised the printing of 250 copies.

The novel is about an English teacher's experience in Poland during the rise of the Solidarity movement.

Gerard Woodward, 40, who supports his writing by looking after vending machines at Manchester University, is also nominated for his first novel, August.

And Eva Ibbotsen, 76, is shortlisted for the children's book prize.

Ibbotsen has written six children's books and her nominated title, Journey To The River Sea, has also been shortlisted for the Guardian's Children's Prize.

The Whitbread Prizes, which are open only to writers based in the UK and Ireland, are awarded in January 2002.

Who should win the Whitbread novel prize?

Ian McEwan

Helen Dunmore

Andrew Miller

Patrick Neate

286 Votes Cast

Results are indicative and may not reflect public opinion

See also:

28 Sep 01 | Reviews
McEwan's complicated triumph
14 Nov 01 | Arts
Whitbread shortlists 2001
18 Sep 01 | Arts
McEwan: Enduring talent
04 Jan 01 | Entertainment
Whitbread winners square up
18 Sep 01 | Arts
Miller's 'ingenious' novels
12 Oct 01 | Reviews
Oxygen lacks air of quality
27 Jan 99 | Entertainment
Posthumous Whitbread prize for Ted Hughes
Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to more Arts stories are at the foot of the page.

E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Arts stories