Page last updated at 21:28 GMT, Friday, 7 November 2008

Rower wins sportsman of the year

Men's Coxless Fours team with gold medals
Steve Williams, 3rd from left, is captain of Henley's Leander Club

The winners of the Oxfordshire Sports Awards for 2008 have been announced at a gala event at the Kassam Stadium.

The coveted titles of sportsman and sportswoman of the year went to Olympic rower Steve Williams and 2012 Olympic hopeful, sailor Claire Lasko.

Banbury Hockey Club Men's 1st team won team of the year while City of Oxford Rowing Club Junior Women's Coxless Four won the junior category.

Athletics trainer Tim Hampson was voted the coach of the year.

The other 2008 Oxfordshire titles were awarded as follows:

• Junior Sportsperson of the Year; kickboxer, Imogen Shayler

Claire Scott skydiving
Claire Scott is the most successful British competitive skydiver ever

• Veteran Sportsperson of the Year; athlete, David Keuster

• Disabled Sportsperson of the Year; triathlete, Graham Kiff

• Extreme Sportsperson of the Year; skydiver, Claire Scott

• Club of the Year; Wallingford Rugby club

• Unsung Hero; netballer, Lesley Williams

• Junior Unsung Hero; netball coach, Caitlin Williams

Print Sponsor

Sports award winners to be named
07 Nov 08 |  Oxfordshire


Has China's housing bubble burst?
How the world's oldest clove tree defied an empire
Why Royal Ballet principal Sergei Polunin quit


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific