BBC Home
Explore the BBC
BBC News
Launch consoleBBC NEWS CHANNEL
Last Updated: Friday, 2 May, 2003, 08:42 GMT 09:42 UK
Tories win South Oxfordshire
Votes being counted
Labour lost out in Oxfordshire's local elections

The Conservatives have taken control of South Oxfordshire District Council for the first time since 1995.

They won 27 seats out of 48 on Thursday night and broke the Liberal Democrat and Labour alliance which has run the council for the last four years.

The Tories won five seats in the district, while the Lib Dems lost eight and Labour lost three.

The Lib Dem's John Griffin, chairman of the council lost his seat in Crowmarsh.

Oxfordshire's election results
Cherwell: CON hold
South Oxfordshire: CON from NOC
Vale of White Horse: Lib Dem hold
West Oxfordshire: CON hold

In Cherwell, the Conservatives kept their clear majority, despite losing three seats to leave them with 34.

Labour gained one seat, taking them to 12, while the Lib Dems gained two seats, taking them to four.

The Tories also had success in West Oxfordshire with an overall win of 29 seats, despite losing another three.

The Lib Dems hold the only other significant number of seats in the district, winning two seats to take them to 12.

In the Vale of White Horse, the Lib Dems only just held on to the council, as the Conservatives closed the gap by winning six seats.

The Lib Dems lost four, leaving them with 29 seats to the Tories' 21.


News Front Page | World | UK | England | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales | Politics
Business | Entertainment | Science/Nature | Technology | Health | Education
Have Your Say | Magazine | In Pictures | Week at a Glance | Country Profiles | In Depth | Programmes
Americas Africa Europe Middle East South Asia Asia Pacific